SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Bottom Paint and Blisters

3K views 6 replies 5 participants last post by  ShamsB 
#1 ·
I just had my boat pull out for a bottom paint and discovered some blisters. The boat yard that is doing the work recommended that they repair them. They said that a few of them are down to the fiberglass but not deep enough to wear they would need to re-fiberglass anything, but they would like to grind them all the way down and put epoxy over the areas. The worst ones are on the keel and rudder. They said that they could just paint over them but they wouldn't guarantee the work. Also there are a few on the hull of the boat but those are just in the paint and wouldn't need special attention. I am new to this and would like to hear peoples opinions about what I should do. Its going to be about $900 for the bottom paint and they are saying $1400 more for the blister work. Please help I am going to call tomorrow morning with the go/no-go. My only worry is that they are like the car mechanic and want to sell more work than is necessary.

Thanks for your help
Shams

#2 ·
photos would help with the size and age of boat. You most likely won't sink if you don't fix them. $2300 is a big chunk of change! AND.. they will find a way to charge you even more.. how about haul out and put in?
If you can hold off til next season and find the means to do it yourself you will save close to $2000. unless you strip and barrier coat the whole bottom; paint and epoxies; may total about 500 for a 30ish boat.

#3 · (Edited)