SailNet Community - View Single Post - Boat Location Dilemma
View Single Post
Old 06-07-2011
Crotchety Old Member

tomperanteau is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by steveoscaro View Post
Thank you for the input, tomperanteau.

As I don't have any predefined home port, just a region, I suppose I'll have plenty of boats to consider. West Coast/Gulf Coast covers a lot of territory.

On another general approach topic - If you were a novice like me, wanting to spend a year or two learning to sail your boat before visiting a different continent, which coast would you prefer to be based on? The Gulf Coast obviously appeals due to access to the Caribbean (not to suggest it's a short jaunt from TX to San Blas), but it would be nice to have to avoid hurricane season. I know this is a ridiculously vague question, but where should a novice learn?

Other than Alaska, I've spent most my life in Colorado, hence my ignorance.
Actually... I am a novice, or at least I consider myself to be. Only been sailing for three years (1800 NM). However in those three years and three boats I have learned how to do in-depth inspections, and have looked at more boats than I can remember while looking for our next.

As far as which coast, I was born and raised in Houston so we frequented trips to the coast and rented a beach house every summer. I am very familiar with the entire Texas coast. To me it's almost a toss up. In the Gulf you have a lot of coast to explore and of course the Bahamas and other islands. That is VERY attractive. The Gulf can be a bit meaner than the open ocean in that the wave intervals can be shorter and pound you more because of the shallower water there, but the open ocean has its anomalies too.