SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Boat Location Dilemma

4K views 21 replies 10 participants last post by  steveoscaro 
#1 ·
Hi all, I've been lurking around these forums for a while now, and finally have to throw out this dumb question.

A little background: I'm 26 yrs old, and have decided to give up the office life before I get entrenched and do the whole live-aboard life for some time. All through college I worked on commercial fishing boats, so I'll be doing that again this summer, and if all goes well, buy a sailboat in the fall.

So my question for those of you who have been in a similar situation: Although I have plenty of 'boat' experience, I don't have much sailing experience, so what are my options if I find my 'dream' boat in the Great Lakes or Maine (I ask because I'm hoping to spend my first year learning and preparing on the west coast or the Gulf coast)? If you aren't a seasoned sailor, did you limit your boat search to your neck of the woods? I'm looking in the 28-35 ft range, so there's hope it could be trailerable. My budget is <20K, so I don't want to spend thousands to have the boat relocated...

I know there's no easy answer, but I'm still hoping someone pulls out a silver bullet :D

-Steve

See less See more
#2 ·
My thoughts are buy within sailing range of your home port.

The wife and I looked on the west coast because we live in southern California. As it turned out all of the boats that we have purchased have been within 130 NM of our home port. An easy sail and close to the coast in the event of something happening on your "new" boat.

There are a LOT of great deals to be had for a buyer these days. No reason why you can't find a bargain where you are.

#3 ·
Thank you for the input, tomperanteau.