SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Marine Head Tank install?

10K views 12 replies 6 participants last post by  knothead 
#1 ·
In looking for a boat to live aboard, I'm concerned about the every day tasks that I take advantage of now, mainly "taking care of business." I have to cast aside all my lady-like tendencies and dash into the nitty-gritty here, so my apologies to the overly sensitive. But we all must do it, right? What goes in must come out.

So. One of the boats I have on my "maybe" list, is a 1975 30' Newport Sloop, with ten gallon fresh water tank, and a marine head that needs a holding tank. I'm new to the boating scene, and hoped someone could educate me on how difficult it is to swap or install new tanks. I'm planning on anchoring out in the summer, so I really want a boat with a crap-holding tank, if you will. Also, ten gallons of fresh water seems a bit small to me, considering I'll be cooking and doing my dishes aboard, washing hands, and cycling water through my little throne.

Anyone ever swapped tanks before or had to install a poo-holding tank?

#2 · (Edited)
Installing a new holding tank is not the toughest job in the world, and it's much less revolting than replacing an old, leaky one. Peggy Hall is considered the guru of MSDs. Here is a page of her wisdom that is probably as good a place to "dive into" this topic as any.