SailNet Community - View Single Post - Slightly unorthodox anchoring technique
View Single Post
Old 08-10-2006

Maine Sail is just really nice Maine Sail is just really nice Maine Sail is just really nice Maine Sail is just really nice
What!!!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by solent
Reading theses posts explain why at some achorages yachts are swinging into the position of other yachts. There is a certain amount of rode required depending on the depth of water. The anchor is not what holds the boat, it is the water pressure pressing down on the surface of the rope as the boat pulls on it.
I hope I never anchor near you! The anchor IS most certainly what holds the boat. A good length of rode keeps the line more horizontal so the anchor can remain set and not yank out from a rode that is almost vertical. That is the most ridiculous logic I have ever heard and I've been sailing for 35 years. There is no downward pressure on nylon rope that is enough to even make a difference. Whn you get in the water is there downward pressure on you? No! Rope is the same it is actually ligher when it is in the water due to trapped air in the strands and the nearly neutral bouyancy of nylon. Now if you run an all chain rode than the weight of the chain is what keeps the line closer to the bottom not "water pressure"?? If the anchor does not hold the boat why don't you just toss some rode over board next time you're out and see where you wind up.