SailNet Community - View Single Post - New Islander 28 Owner needs help on floor replacement
View Single Post
Old 08-08-2011
Tundra Down

downeast450 is on a distinguished road
Hi 510,

I have a 76 I-28 also that I have been working on for a few years now. I am retired but one of my former lives was a boat builder and might be able to offer you some suggestions. It is a very comfortable little boat to start on. Perry considers it one of his best designs and is worth the investment in time if the boat is generally sound. The cabin soles (floors) are easily removable. The frames on my boat were and still are encapsulated in fiberglass. Running a drill through them reveals punky wood that I will probably replace at some point but there is so much glass over them the glass has effectively become the frame. The center floor boards should be loose and removable anyway for bilge access.