SailNet Community - View Single Post - what do you think my boat is worth? NY-36
View Single Post
Old 10-22-2011

hellosailor has a spectacular aura about hellosailor has a spectacular aura about
Dbltime, if you didn't sell it within 90 days, yes, you're fired. I'll try to be constructively cruel and pick out possible negatives from your post and the Yworld page, but I've never been on a NY Schock 36 so I can't comment on the boat firsthand.

"Full disclosure: I am a yacht broker in Annapolis. Don't hold that against me ;-) as this is my personal boat for the last 6 years.

"absolutely trashed NY 36 with a new rig"
OK, to me this is a problem. A boat that was beaten to death and has been redone in all areas. I have to ask, "best yard" or not, does "reborn" really get credit for anything north of the Bible Belt?

"re-core the decks" One of the most serious possible jobs. Maybe done right, but then again, that also means the PO let it get that bad to begin with, so I have to ask if the PO maintained anything on it.

A new mast? WTF happened to the boat pops into mind. It really sounds like more trouble than someone might want to get involved with, maybe you could put in some chat that puts it all into context, like "Godzilla didn't stomp on it, we just wanted to...": whatever it was? And with that new mast and fin and all, are they exactly to class spec, or is this a boat that needs all custom measuring and rating now?

AND a new boom? I take it back, how many times DID Godzilla step on the boat?

>all new harken hardware< good thing

>6 new Quantim laminated sails<
Not for cruisers, that audience may walk out. Racers? Are going to want specific boats.
I'd expect that five year old laminated racing sails, RACED, would be delaminating now and needing replacement. A laminated sail, once it starts to go, makes an ugly sight.