SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Lifting the aft end out of the water in the slip

4K views 26 replies 14 participants last post by  Squidd 
#1 ·
This might be a stupid question but I'm a noob so here goes.

Due to an improper repair by a past owner and subsequent near catastrophic failure of the stuffing box tube (see earlier posts), I have decided to replace the assembly with a PSS dripless system. That's not the stupid part (although there are some here who might disagree).

The only way for our local marina to get the boat out of the water is to hook up their gooseneck triple axle trailer and haul the whole boat onto the yard. This takes three people, with at least one of them getting wet to adjust the supports prior to the final drive out. I don't mind paying for it, but the marina owner is not enthused about doing it. This seems like a lot of effort for a half-day's job.

Here is the potentially stupid question. Since I really only need to raise the aft of the boat enough for the stern tube to clear the water and not sink my boat while I am doing the repair, is the haul out really necessary? Could we not rig an A-frame or something on the dock with straps that will be capable of lifting the boat safely and far enough to clear the waterline? The boat displacement is 6000 lbs, but if only the aft end were lifted a foot or so, the weight on the dock and contraption would be a fraction of that, correct? It's been awhile since college physics, but if the weight were lifted on the aft, wouldn't some of the weight be distributed forward to the water supporting the bow? The base of the keel would probably still be in the water or just above it.

Has anyone tried something like this?

See less See more
#2 ·