SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

How do you keep your stuff from being stolen

8K views 16 replies 13 participants last post by  WanderingStar 
#1 ·
I am new to boating. I want to buy a sail boat and go coastal cruising down the pacific coast of mexico. How does this work. You sail and then when you see a harbor you want to park for the night you drop your anchor take the dingy to shore. Explore a new town on foot. When you return to the dock the dingy may have been stolen, your boat at anchor may have been broken into and robbed or worse yet someone stolen the the boat with everything. I am afraid to park my car in a shopping center for fear someone will ding my doors parking next to me. How am I going to park a $100k or more boat with all my personal stuff in it at an unknown harbor with no security? it seems I will never be able to go further than eye site distance from my boat. This will turn me into a boat slave.

#2 ·
Mariopoli:
Great question. Lots of answers, some of them worth considering. First, don't be flashy. Look for a boat which looks sad. Second, lock up the yacht when you leave it. Get a cable and lock for the dinghy, long enough to loop through the outboard handle as well as the dinghy. Stay at a Marina with guards. Stay out of dangerous anchorages. When going ashore, find out who the quality local guides are, hire one, and ask him to hire a boy to watch your dinghy. (On occasion the guide has helped us bargain for provisions so effectively that we saved more than the cost of his services.) Read these forums for others suggestions. Be lucky.

#5 ·