SailNet Community - View Single Post - Build it or Buy it?
View Single Post
Old 10-04-2006
ASA and PSIA Instructor

sailingfool will become famous soon enough
building my own boat from scratch

Quote:
Originally Posted by zhahn
I'm a relatively inexperienced sailor who is looking to further my sailing skill and at the same time pick up some boat maintenance and repair skills by possibly building my own boat from scratch. I've always been a fairly mechanically inclined person, spending a lot of time growing up building things from wood with my grandfather who was a carpenter by trade and fixing cars with my father. I painted houses for three summers while in college (which I've sadly just graduated from) and so have a good amount of experience in scrapping, sanding, priming, caulking, and painting. I'm not looking to build anything remotely large, somewhere in the 16 footdaysailer range.

In terms of experience I've sailed around Buzzard's Bay here in Massachusetts several times crewing on a friend's 33 foot Catalina and started sailing on my own this summer on the Charles River at Community Boating (I highly recommend them to anyone in the Boston area, great people and very affordable - http://www.community-boating.org/)