SailNet Community - View Single Post - A trip from NJ to S. America--Type, journey length, boat details?
View Single Post
Old 03-10-2012

Nione is on a distinguished road
Post A trip from NJ to S. America--Type, journey length, boat details?

Greetings! I'm a writer, in desperate need of some aid from real, live sailors. Google and Wikipedia can only help so much. Hours of scouring dozens of sites have only driven home the fact I am way out of my depth here!

This is the scenario:
Three people (two experienced sailors and one prisoner) are traveling from the New Jersey, U.S. coastline to a southern Caribbean island. It is November, present day time period. They are purchasing a small boat second-hand from a random harbor, and must be able to travel non-stop as discreetly as possible. Money is not an issue.

My main questions, broadly:

-- What sort of boat would they buy?
-- What is a small blue water boat actually like on the inside?
-- How long would this journey take, approximately?

Opinions and personal anecdotes are wonderful! If you want to go on at length about a boat you built or a journey you took, that is more than fine! I also welcome suggestions for further resources.

Thank you very much in advance!

-------------------------------

Specifics, my thoughts, and research:

First of all, I need to know if I'm even looking in the right direction when thinking "sailboat." Maybe these people should use a motorboat. Or power sailor. What do you think? They can't stop and refuel.

The next question is, What kind?