SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Hello from Wyoming

1K views 9 replies 4 participants last post by  captainfletcher 
#1 ·
Hello everyone!
I am new to sailing and the community here. I have lived in land locked Colorado and Wyoming for the past 7 years. I am a big fisherman, especially fly fishing. Originally from central Texas, I moved to Colorado for a job with the railroad back in '05. I have yet to have sailed, but I've spent a good deal of time on the water with other small boats. I currently have a tiny one man inflatable pontoon boat that I use in the lakes. Now that my kids are getting old enough to get out there with me, I needed to upgrade to something large enough for the whole family. I had considered buying a v-hull aluminum boat, but my wife suggested a sailboat since the wind always blows here in Wyoming. After some researching on the web and library, I've become obsessed with sailing. Summers up here are much shorter than they were back in TX, but I plan to find a boat that I can learn to sail on and then be able to take the kids out for some sailing and fishing. Ideally, I'd like a boat that has room to sleep all of us overnight, but I'm not too sure if that's too big to learn the basic's on and to sail solo when the family can't come too.

#3 ·
I've been looking around craigslist in CO, WY, western NE and KS. There has been a few here or there, but seems like everybody wants good money for stuff. Boats in CO to me, in general, seem to be on the high priced end of things. Because of my work, 3 hour drive would be about as far as I could go, Denver, Colorado Springs, front range CO. I happened across a boat here in town locally that looked like it needed a good home, but it may need more work than I am able to do.

#4 ·
Welcome.