SailNet Community - View Single Post - YA need a boat thread
View Single Post
Old 10-13-2006

BarryL is on a distinguished road
similar story

Hey,

I was in a similar position back in 2004. I bought my first boat (1981 Catalina 22) in 2003, sailed for the rest of the season (Long Island Sound), half of 2004, then decided I wanted a bigger boat.

I wanted a boat with inboard diesel engine, wheel steering, marine head, hot+cold pressure water, self tailing winches, roller furling headsail, shower, and beds for 5 (me, my wife, and our 3 kids, who are young). My research showed that I needed a boat around 30', so I looked at boats in the 28 - 32' range. I am not interested in racing, but I do value performance. My budget was around 20K. I looked at a lot of boats, including Catalina 30, Islander 30, S2 9.2A, Irwin 30 and 32, Newport 28, Ericcson 28, Hunter 31, Oday 31, and a few others.

I'm not an expert, but to me, the boats were all basically the same.

All the boats I looked at were from the early to mid 80's.
Here are some of my opinions:
-The Irwins were lightly made and poor quality. I have no desire to cross oceans, but the Long Island Sound in the spring and fall has 20 kt winds and 4' seas. I didn't feel like the Irwin would do well in those conditions
-The Hunters from the early 80's were not made well. The boats I looked at were unattractive (personal opinion) and did not hold up well.
-Catalina 30 - great boat and my #1 choice. Well made, simple, lots to choose from.
-Islander 30 - nice boat, similar to the Catalina, but more difficult to find.
-S2 9.2A - I really expected to love this boat. Practical Sailor rated it very high. I looked at 5 of them. All had bad leaks around the chain plates. The boats I looked at (at the lower end of the price range) had moldy interiors, and were 'stripped' of things like hot water heaters.