SailNet Community - View Single Post - Transient Slip in Norfolk
View Single Post
Old 04-11-2012
Morgan 33 O.I. Perryville

travlineasy will become famous soon enough
Re: Transient Slip in Norfolk

I've been traveling to Cape Charles for the past 40 years or more, mainly to go fishing. The absolute best tautog action can be found on the east side of the Concrete Liberty Ships that make up the Kiptopeke Breakwater, I've caught and released black drum to 90 pounds at the Cabbage Patch, which is a sharp drop-off just west of Cape Charles Harbor, caught red drum to 60 pounds there too. Some of the best shark fishing in the mid Atlantic region takes place during July through September along the bay's eastern channel edge between Cape Charles and the Chesapeake Bay Bridge Tunnel (CBBT). Bull shark to 600 pounds, lots of spiny dogfish in the spring to 45 pounds, dusky shark to 150 pounds are not uncommon, and there's an occasional blacktip shark that shows up near the Inner Middle Grounds.

The area is rich in history, and the Inner Middle Grounds is where thousands of British ships met their fate. The shoal is less than 3 feet beneath the surface, yet it is situated near the middle of the bay. Consequently, the Brits thought the water was deep because of it's proximity to land, and ended up running hard aground. It's one of those places you must avoid when sailing across the Chesapeake's mouth or you could end up meeting a similar fate. The entire bottom is littered with millions of pounds of ballast stones from those British ships.