SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Best boat for up the Potomac?

8K views 30 replies 14 participants last post by  SVCarolena 
#1 ·
I went out for the first time the other day with Rich (BubbleheadMd) and had a blast. Now I am planning to sign up for a class at the belle haven marina in Alexandria. I am keeping my eyes open for a good boat, but am not totally sure what is best.

From what I have read it seems the best option would be a low draft (3'?) Shoal keel/centerboard. Thoughts?

#2 · (Edited)
Others will reply who have vastly more knowledge than I do, but as a fellow sailing newbie I just went through this process myself. I found a Morgan 22 and I love it. With the swing keel up, I draw two feet of water. The swing up centerboard contains no ballast, so you've still got all 1400 lbs of lead ballast right where it's going to be, keel up or down.

The Morgan 22 is a lot of boat for 22 feet. When I bought mine I sailed it 60 miles down the Florida gulf coast, keeping about three miles offshore to make the best time. We had 3-5ft swell and moderate chop the whole way and still managed to average about 5 knots. Early in the day the power boats were out in full force, but when the wind and swell picked up they ran for cover. They were getting beat up really bad while we were rolling along on our lazy way loving it. We were trying to hold course as close as we could to cover the most distance, not squeeze as much speed as possible. I couldn't be happier. She heels over a bit and then stiffens right up.

Every inch of this boat is usable space. It really does not feel like a 22. This is no dinghy. She's as rock steady as a tug but she's fast as hell. And if you look around, the price is right. You can pick them up in great shape for a few grand.

#8 ·