SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

C&C 27 Project Boat help!

5K views 12 replies 10 participants last post by  chef2sail 
#1 ·
Hey all, I have begun work on an old 74'(?) C&C 27 sailboat. It's currently in the water, in a slip, but is in distress. It needs a lot of work to be seaworthy again. I am generally handy, but I am new to boat repairs and I was hoping some of you fellow C&C owners could give me some pointers.

Here is the link to the album of pictures: Photo Album - Imgur

To start, there was water in the cabin for who knows how long and its left a pretty stubborn scum line. Nothing I've thrown at it is doing anything. Any tips for getting this stuff off?

Some of the teak has torn away from the areas that it was screwed into the balsa(?) cored boards and is rotting. I was told GitRot would be a good remedy for this, any other solutions?

The forward hatch hinges have torn away from the fiberglass, as you can see in the pictures, and need to be remounted. Any tips for remounting them?

Then, you can see the backs of the cockpit compass and depth finder sticking out inside the cabin. It's pretty unsightly. Should they be sticking out this far? If not, whats going on here? And if so, is there supposed to be a back plate to cover them up or should I fashion something myself?