SailNet Community - View Single Post - Newbie seeks salty dog(s) for some sage advice
View Single Post
Old 07-21-2012
Time to float my boat!

Gruti is on a distinguished road
Red face Newbie seeks salty dog(s) for some sage advice

Wow - where to start...
* I am slowly figuring out how to navigate this forum so please be patient and redirect me if this is in the wrong place or if this is a topic that has been flogged into the ground in the past
*My wife and I are considering buying a boat. (Did I just hear some cackling?)
*I have pretty extensive dinghy sailing / windsurfing experience and a bit of keel boat crew time in, but no skippering and no systems maintenance experience at all. I am fairly handy though. (More cackling?) My wife is a complete novice.
*We are in our late 40s with 4 kids who are mostly off to college so we have some time to play. We are trying to see if sailing / cruising is going to be a small part of our lives or THE thing.
*We have the space in our yard to store a trailerable boat if we go that route.
*We have some capital to devote to this project, and the ability to pay moorage and expenses. But I work(ed) hard for that money so I want to be smart about this.
*We live in Seattle, near (but not on) lake Washington.

We are trying hard to anticipate what kind of sailing we will ACTUALLY do as opposed to the dreaming that is rampant in this endeavor, and our thought process is going around in tight circles.

Some thoughts:

Does it make sense to drop what looks like $1000 on US Sailing skipper certification? My gut is yes (safety & confidence), but this is a big chunk of the cost of some of the boats we are looking at.

Do sailing clubs make sense? Again - they seem to, but it is a lot of $$ for no ownership when there a lot of $5,000 - $10,000 sail ready boats out there. (Would you stop cackling!)