SailNet Community - View Single Post - racing rules question narrow channel
View Single Post
post #6 of Old 08-05-2012
Tempest
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,181
Thanks: 6
Thanked 63 Times in 62 Posts
Rep Power: 9
 
Re: racing rules question narrow channel

When crossing, you were the give-way vessel, by tacking to the leeward same tack are you allowed to then claim room? Don't you have to allow the windward boat to sail it's normal course as if you weren't there? Meaning you can't force them to head up or tack from it's normal heading, but rather in this situation you needed to leave room for yourself to tack under them if necessary?

Tempest
Sabre 34
Morgan, NJ
Tempest is offline  
Quote Share with Facebook
 
 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome