SailNet Community - View Single Post - Rule 10 and rule 18?
View Single Post
post #1 of Old 08-22-2012 Thread Starter
Junior Member
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Rule 10 and rule 18?

Situation: Two Beetlecats approaching the leeward mark, both running by the lee. The mark will be taken to port. Inside the zone, boat A is on port tack and is the inside boat with an overlap on boat B. Boat B is on starboard tack. Boat B (outside boat) calls "Starboard!" and bumps into boat A; B's port rail hits A's starboard rail, a light tap/rub, no damage, no change of course by either boat.

Question: Which rule 'trumps'? Rule 10 says boat B (outside boat) has rights because B is on starboard. Rule 18 says boat A (inside overlapped boat) must be given mark room. As I understand from reading the rules, rule 18 applies because there is an overlap in the zone and therefore the outside boat must give the inside boat mark room.

I've attached a drawing, there's actually a third boat (boat C) inside of both A and B.

Thanks for helping a newbie racer trying to understand the rules! I'd be glad to provide any other useful information.

Fair winds.
Attached Images
File Type: bmp Leeward mark incident Aug 2012.bmp (31.9 KB, 58 views)
JohnnyJupiter is offline  
Quote Share with Facebook
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome