SailNet Community - View Single Post - Rule 10 and rule 18?
View Single Post
post #5 of Old 08-22-2012
Senior Member
paulk's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: CT/ Long Island Sound
Posts: 2,840
Thanks: 4
Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts
Rep Power: 17
Re: Rule 10 and rule 18?

Boat A - the inside boat which had an overlap at entering the 3-boatlength zone IS entitled to room at the mark, regardless of their being on port tack. Even though they're on starboard, Boat B, the outside boat, is required by rule 18 to provide sufficient room for A to round the mark in a seamanlike manner under the prevailing conditions. (I think this wording comes from an appeal I read somewhere. Boat A might need more room in 15' seas than in smooth water, for example.) As stated in Section A of the rules, some rules in sections B, C, and D limit the actions of a right-of-way boat. This is one of those situations: rule 18 is in section B. Note how rule 18 applies going downwind, but does NOT apply going upwind. You can't sneak in on Port tack at the windward mark and call for room. In this situation they're not beating. Boat B, broke rule 18 by not providing room, and also rule 14 by hitting boat A. They should have done a bunch of penalty turns (four, perhaps?) before continuing their race, or should have withdrawn.

Last edited by paulk; 08-22-2012 at 10:49 PM.
paulk is offline  
Quote Share with Facebook
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome