SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Sailboat Quality

20K views 51 replies 29 participants last post by  SloopJonB 
#1 ·
I am relatively new to sailing, and have a burning question.....

I am going to be in the used boat market for a while. I realize that there are MANY variables, the care of owners, the after market equipment... but.....

When all these things are considered, on average......

In terms of initial build quality and long term reliability, what are the various brands of boat ranked from highest quality to lowest?

I also have heard that certain decades of certain builders varied over time, denote as needed!

#5 ·
This is a good question and has been asked and answered many times in the past. A rehash it always good though.
Your question is probably not the real question however. The real question is probably more like "How do I go about picking a boat for me?" The underlying assumption is that while you are looking you might as well look at boats with known good quality. Which is logical but misses a lot of reality.
Most of us when looking at boats for the first time use our experience in shopping for cars as a rough guide. This does not however work out as well as one would expect.

One reason the car analogy does not work with boats is because the boats you will most likely be looking at will be from 10 to 30 years old.
Boats are much more complicated than cars having multiple electrical and water and power systems.
Boats are much more likely to be modified, sometimes for the better sometimes for the worst.

A simplistic answer to your question is to check the list price of the boats. One would think that if the vendor was able to get 100,000 or more for the same length boat it would be a better boat.