SailNet Community - View Single Post - Interesting Sailboats
View Single Post
Old 08-29-2012

PCP will become famous soon enough
Re: Interesting Sailboats

Quote:
Originally Posted by JAndersB View Post
Hi Paulo,
after all time spent evaluating boats I kind of wanted to spend my time sailing :-). By the way, congratulations to your boat choise, I hope you enjoy your cruise. I myself just sailed some 35 Nm in 4 hours and 14-16 knots of wind from 90 degrees TWA from Gothenbourg to the big in water boat show at the Hallberg-Rassy yard. Among other boats the new RM 1260 is here.
That is about the performance of my boat. With 14K at 90º the boat goes at 8.5K with 20º of heel, solid as a rock. Even my wife has got used to the speed. Very light at the wheel too.

But I am still learning: First time I got over 30K wind I blew both sails

I don't understand why the previous owner had a 3rd reef on the main sail if the sail hardly can hold with the wind that the 2nd reef can manage (35K).

I am in Preveza, near Levkas where I could find a marina that called me a sailmaker (Cleopatra Marina, good and inexpensive). Problem sorted out but now I need to start looking for good offshore sails. My wife said that these rip off like paper. She was used to the Elvstrom offshore (tafeta sails) that we had in our boat and I have to say that they could sustain much more abuse for many years without any problem.

The sailmaker says that I have medium racing kevlar sails, good for 15 to 18K of wind

I have already changed the front sail to a dracon one (that came with the boat), but that is a very basic sail.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JAndersB View Post
Anorher intersting notice from the big Tjörn Runt race that took place last weekend (around 430 boats took part) is that the new H-R 412 won it's class and was 8th overall (with furling main). Overall winner and 3 more of the top ten boats where First 40.
Thank to post about this. I will check it out better.