SailNet Community - View Single Post - Is sleeping OK?
Thread: Is sleeping OK?
View Single Post
Old 09-21-2012
Morgan 33 O.I. Perryville

travlineasy will become famous soon enough
Re: Is sleeping OK?

I single hand sail nearly every trip, mostly in Chesapeake Bay. However, I have spent an enormous amount of time offshore in powerboats, large and small, distances to several hundred miles on a single trip, and spent four years in the U.S. Navy. So, I guess if you add up all my sea time, which is more than 55 years, a dozen pond crossings on war ships, I guess I have a little bit of experience.

However, I base my statement on sleep deprivation upon several first hand experiences.

When I was a young man, 22 years old, I worked in the medical field as the chief cardio-pulmonary technician for two major teaching hospitals in Baltimore. I, like many younger men, figured I was invincible, didn't need to sleep, and could live on a couple hours sleep a night. At the end of 15 years I was down to 140 pounds, looked like a zombie, and realized that I was leading a pretty unhealthy lifestyle. One night, about 3 a.m., I was in the operating room, running the heart-lung machine, which bypasses the patient's heart and lungs so surgery can be performed on the non-beating heart. This was my third case that day, I had been awake 22 hours and only had two hours sleep prior to this stint. I thought I was doing just fine, the patient was fairly stable, and all the sudden I felt a sharp pain in my forehead. I had fallen asleep while adding blood to the oxygenator, fell forward, and my head slammed into the stainless fitting that held the pump housing in place. I had no idea I was falling asleep, and fortunately, the patient was not endangered during the few minutes I was in la-la land. My head was bandaged by one of the thoracic surgery residents, and when the case ended, the same resident stitched up my head just above my left eye. I still have the scar from 50 years ago.