SailNet Community - View Single Post - Close call! Who had rights?
View Single Post
  #8  
Old 10-09-2012
svzephyr44 svzephyr44 is offline
Sailboat Reboot
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On Board
Posts: 438
Thanks: 2
Thanked 25 Times in 23 Posts
Rep Power: 15
svzephyr44 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Skype™ to svzephyr44
Re: Close call! Who had rights?

The key question here is was either vessel "Not Under Command." If so the other boat is burdened and required to keep clear. In order to be Not Under Command your vessel has to be unable to maneuver (Rule 3.) You clearly were able to maneuver since by your own admission you put the boat in gear and avoided a collision. Your sails were down so you were clearly in the category of a motor vessel according to the rules. So now the question becomes was he NUC? Most likely not. The fact that you were both drifting has nothing to do with the rules. Without being exactly clear relative position of the two boats I can't speak for who was burdened. Now you violated Rule 8 which requires you to take prompt action to avoid a collision (since you almost hit you waited too long.) But the real key is Rule 17. Rule 17 says (paraphrasing) that it doesn't matter who has "rights" in the final analysis even the "Stand on" vessel must take action to avoid the collision. My guess, not being a maritime lawyer is that a court would find both boats liable and apportion costs under that basis.

The proper action would be to have unfurled your jib! (LOL)
__________________
Roger
Sailboat Reboot
Current position
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Ham: W2ZDB Reboot: WDB8435
Web Site:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Blog:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by svzephyr44; 10-09-2012 at 01:19 PM.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook