SailNet Community - View Single Post - Close call! Who had rights?
View Single Post
post #18 of Old 10-09-2012
Senior Member
jackdale's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 9,044
Thanks: 27
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
Rep Power: 7
Re: Close call! Who had rights?

Originally Posted by RichH View Post
You may 'think' youre not under command, your boat may actually be behaving as one 'not under command'; but, unless you have two red balls or two red lights aloft ... you're simply NOT 'not under command'.

In most such venues where boats are apparently drifting, the one with the current from behind/astern is the usual one that is considered 'privileged' ... but as a courtesy only and when not under Mississippi River or other 'inland river' Rules.
Good post. That apples to RAM and engaged in fishing as well.

Is there anything in colregs that specifies the colors of the balls?

ISPA Yachtmaster Offshore Instructor Evaluator
Sail Canada Advanced Cruising Instructor
IYT Yachtmaster Coastal Instructor
ASA 201, 203, 204, 205, 206, 214
As I sail, I praise God, and care not. (Luke Foxe)
jackdale is offline  
Quote Share with Facebook
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome