SailNet Community - View Single Post - Sailing characteristics ?
View Single Post
Old 10-09-2012

GeorgeB is on a distinguished road
Re: Sailing characteristics ?

I may be the only person on this board who has actually sailed a Catalina 355. While I have never sailed on a Hunter, I have lots of experience sailing, cruising and racing on a wide variety of boats including ones designed by other contributors to this BB.

A couple years ago I had the opportunity to sail hull #1 on San Francisco Bay. The boat was being taken around to the various boat shows and my local Catalina broker wanted to sail it and asked me to come along and offer my opinion. Somewhere buried on this or another BB, I wrote up my impressions so I will try to summarize here. We sailed along the City front, beam reached across the “slot” did several tacks up to Harding Rock then a running reach back behind Treasure Island. The winds were in the mid teens. The vessel was in “boat show” condition, to say, static tuned, no water in the tanks, basic running rigging, 110 jib and a furling main (with vertical battens). It was standard mast and fin keel. It had a bow sprit but no spinnaker. Being a “show boat”, I couldn’t wring her completely out, but I was still able to push her a bit (hey, they wanted my opinion)