SailNet Community - View Single Post - Close call! Who had rights?
View Single Post
post #29 of Old 10-10-2012
jackdale
Senior Member
 
jackdale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 9,043
Thanks: 27
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
Rep Power: 7
 
Re: Close call! Who had rights?

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichH View Post
The ONLY thing that defines that a sailboat is 'under (engine) power ... the sailboat is flying an inverted CONE in the rigging or the 'steaming light' is on at night.
Rich - thanks for that. The problem is the exception for the cone. There is no exception for the masthead (steaming) light.

Quote:
(e) A vessel proceeding under sail when also being propelled by machinery shall exhibit forward where it can best be seen a conical shape, apex downwards. A vessel of less than 12 meters in length is not required to exhibit this shape, but may do so.
There are exception for anchor balls as well.

Quote:
g) A vessel of less than 20 meters in length, when at anchor in a special anchorage area designated by the Secretary, shall not be required to exhibit the anchor lights and shapes required by this Rule.

__________________
ISPA Yachtmaster Offshore Instructor Evaluator
Sail Canada Advanced Cruising Instructor
IYT Yachtmaster Coastal Instructor
ASA 201, 203, 204, 205, 206, 214
As I sail, I praise God, and care not. (Luke Foxe)

Last edited by jackdale; 10-10-2012 at 11:01 AM.
jackdale is online now  
Quote Share with Facebook
 
 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome