SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Sailing Capital of the........

8K views 60 replies 31 participants last post by  rikhall 
#1 ·
I was reading another ad that claimed to be the "Sailing Capital of the World".

The two most common I see claim the title are Newport, RI and Annapolis, MD. I've seen the Bahamas give it a shot, as well as the Virgin Island (US and British)and several more.

I admit, I'm partial to voting for Newport. I've been coming to Narragansett Bay for 25 years and know I still haven't seen it all. Within a few hours sail, there are multiple islands and even more destinations on the Bay, if you aren't up to a coastal passage. You can head down Long Island Sound or up Buzzards Bay and spend a lifetime trying to get to all the ports. You can have anything from a 5 star experience to a quiet anchorage and everything in between. And summer sailing conditions are usually ideal, absent the threat of hurricane.

While I love the Annapolis area, it seems all admit that the summer is hot, humid and has light wind.

So, let's hear where you believe is the Sailing Capital of the World. I'm sure our international friends aren't going to just let the US run away with the title.

#6 ·
Geography Lesson

Cape Cod

yet will never forget seeing a Sunday horizon full of boats in Newport there's nowhere like it
Newport, RI is not a part of Cape Cod. Cape Cod is a portion of Massachusetts.

My vote is for Newport, RI for the "Sailing Capital of the......" No particular reason, but I think it has more of a sailing history. However, having the Naval Academy in the heart of Annapolis is a strong reason too for that city.

DrB

#18 ·
Here, here!!