SailNet Community - View Single Post - My Escape Plan - Insights Wanted
View Single Post
Old 11-11-2012

eric-the-red is on a distinguished road
Re: My Escape Plan - Insights Wanted

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff54 View Post
Also , look into penalties for early withdrawal from your 401k. I'm not a tax expert by 10% + income tax comes to mind.

If you have someone local who can help out, look at the numbers for renting out your house - still not risk free though!!
I'm looking into rolling the 401k into an IRA, so it wouldn't be a savings account, it'd be a managed portfolio of stocks and bonds. 5% seems reasonable, and yes, i get there are risks, but long-term the stock market has always gone up. I have a money manager who would run the account, and I'm planning to meet with him to discuss rolling it over in the coming week. I get that there may be taxes and penalties. Hoping to do this over years so that I might minimize penalties as I could maybe claim hardship and my "income" is taxed at a very low rate or no rate.

In terms of "escaping" and not living my current life right...that's not really the case. I've actually got a great life, lots of friends, and a job that I enjoy. But ever since I was a wee lad, I've dreamt about sailing and exploring the world. I know there's more out there for me. And my passion for exploring and being free is much greater than my passion for work and a "regular" life. Life is short and I want to do this while I'm still physically capable and adventurous-minded enough to pull it off.

To be honest, I feel like the world has only so many "good" years left before some massive changes start coming down the pike.

And I know I only have maybe 10-20 years to do this, if I'm lucky. No disrespect to those older than that - it's awesome to be 70+ and cruising, but I'm not going to trust my dream to the dicey odds of being physically and mentally fit into my 60s and 70's.