SailNet Community - View Single Post - Silly question...
View Single Post
  #1  
Old 12-02-2012
Jimmy E Jimmy E is offline
Jim Sanders
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: London Ontario
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Jimmy E is on a distinguished road
Silly question...

I was faced with the following situation this summer, and am seeking feedback as what to do in a race situation .......
Overtook a boat as we approached the mark
We are both on a starboard tack
I am clear ahead of the other by 15ft
I approach the mark and wish to tack 90 degrees ( rounding the mark) I will in all likelihood not clear the logical path of the boat behind me....(I understand I am required to give two boat lengths if we are overlapped)
In this case I am ahead, but wish to cross in front of the boat astern....

What is my proper course of action?
( and yes I am aware regardless of the rules racing with a hole in your boat will slow you down)

Newer to sailing, and even newer to racing, but already hooked

Thanks,
Jimmy
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook