Originally Posted by FSMike
I didn't know that. When did that take effect, or have I been oblivious for ever?
Jackdale is an instructor, I'm just reading the book but here is the paragraph, no distinction between international or inshore
(a) A sailing vessel underway shall exhibit:
(ii) a sternlight.
(b) In a sailing vessel of less than 20 meters in length the lights prescribed in paragraph (a) of this Rule may be combined in one lantern carried at or near the top of the mast where it can best be seen.