SailNet Community - View Single Post - Meet the Mods
Thread: Meet the Mods
View Single Post
Old 01-17-2013
A mod and her dragon

DRFerron is on a distinguished road
Meet the Mods

I suppose since I’m still a moderator after almost eight months, the others decided to keep me around so I should post something about myself. I see the other moderators have loads of pictures and that will take me another year to get around to doing as I prefer taking the pictures not being in the pictures. I’ll see what I can do. Sooner or later.

Let me clear up a few things first: 1) My initials are D and R. I am not a doctor and 2) I am a female. Really. Sorry to those who spent time in the chat with me thinking they were talking to a man.

I started boating around 1999-ish. I was already kayaking (touring) and at some point I made up my mind to learn how to operate larger boats. No lightning hit, no AH HA moment flashed, I just drifted into the thought. I didn’t know whether it would be power boats or sailboats. A guy I knew took me offshore on his powerboat so I could see what that was like. Meh. It was fun, but my world wasn’t rocked. I wasn’t as interested in the boat as I was the ocean around me. When we returned to his dock he spent a good bit of time adjusting his dock lines to account for the tide. Now THAT intrigued me.

My next step was to take a United States Power and Sail Squadron (USPSS) boating course. I loved all nine weeks of it. The instructors were engaging and helpful. There was a group of USPSS members sitting in the back of the auditorium and they were introduced as the sailors. The instructor’s tone implied that they inhabited a culture all their own. I wanted to be them.