SailNet Community - View Single Post - SWING KEELS GOOD or BAD?
View Single Post
Old 02-01-2013
Asleep at the wheel

jimgo is on a distinguished road
Re: SWING KEELS GOOD or BAD?

I'm new to all this, but I enjoy learning, so when I bought my Catalina 25 I started reading up on this a bit. I'm not an expert, but the following is my understanding. Like Ward said, each form of movable keel has its advantage and disadvantage. A swing keel, like on the Catalina 25, carries a good bit of the balast of the boat in the part that swings. In the Catalina 25, that's something like 1200 or 1500 lbs of balast that hangs down. When the keel is down, you move 1500 lbs (or some portion thereof) up to 5 feet from the boat. This significantly improves the boat's righting motion, and gives her characteristics more similar to a fin keel. Don't get me wrong, I'm not saying that it's "just like" a fin, but the boat tends to behave more like a fin than a shallow draft full keel. The down side is that you have to raise and lower 1500 lbs. And, if the winch, cable, turning ball, swage fittings, pivot bolt, or other part of the lifting mechanism breaks, you have 1200/1500 lbs of steel that will come crashing down and smack into the keel trunk, which in many cases results in the boat sinking, or at least rapidly taking on water. It is rare to see this happen, but it is an important to know about and monitor this as a failure mode.