Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Boat Builders Row > Allmand
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-08-2014

tdotz is on a distinguished road
upwind characteristics

Newbie here, considering an Allmand 31 for a long term cruiser, coastal mainly with some conservative passages.
My home port is the San Francisco Bay. It's pretty heavy weather at times, considerable tides and currents. So comments I've seen that the upwind performance isn't so great "Won't point high, makes a lot of leeway." kind of concern me where I sail.
Does anyone have some comparative data or specifics like "points X degrees of wind...sails upwind with a beneteau but not a J" or something like that?
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 06-08-2014

Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about
Re: upwind characteristics

The Almand 31s are notably poor beating and running. They are not up to par with the worst pointing Beneteaus and are closer to something like an Island Packet upwind. I think that they would be a poor choice for San Fran. Bay given SF Bay chop. These are really poor boats in a chop. Beyond that cruising the California coast includes comparatively long jumps and the Almands poor performance would be a real liability.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Curmudgeon at Large- and rhinestone in the rough, sailing my Farr 11.6 on the Chesapeake Bay and part-time purveyor of marine supplies
Old 06-08-2014

tdotz is on a distinguished road

Thanks much. I appreciate the candor, and yes, that would make it a frustrating ride, especially up coast against the current. ;-)
Old 07-08-2014

MarkSF is on a distinguished road

If you're in the market for an Allmand 31, that suggests to me that your budget would suit a Catalina 30, which is a much better boat for SF Bay. Get the deep keel.