Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Skills and Seamanship > Apps & Authors
 Not a Member? 

Apps & Authors This forum is specifically designed for authors, designers, and members to showcase their wares. These must be sailing related!!!

Like Tree2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-05-2014

Sabiny101 is on a distinguished road
Yacht Question From Author

Hi everyone, I am an author writing a historical mystery and I am hoping you can all help me with a question. Although I've looked and looked, I have not been able to find out what the raised part of a deck is called (the top of the cabin). Here is the yacht I'm using as reference:
Gaff Rigged 41ft Cutter 1890 William Ferris William Ferris. Yachts sold by classic yacht broker..

One blog I came across seemed to indicate that it was the 'camber' but I've not been able to verify that.

Also, (1) would the ladder steps be referred to as the companionway? (2) As I understand it, the top of the surrounding railing is called the rail and the solid part the bulwark? Or is that only on larger ships? (3) And if two people were sitting on deck chatting while the boat is moored, where would be the likeliest place they'd sit (I'm assuming on the cabin top?)

Any help would be appreciated.

-Sabrina Flynn
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 03-06-2014

Boredop is on a distinguished road
Re: Yacht Question From Author

The top of the cabin could be the cabin top.
The Following User Says Thank You to Boredop For This Useful Post:
Sabiny101 (03-06-2014)
Old 03-06-2014

benny241525 is on a distinguished road

I've been calling it a cabin top
The Following User Says Thank You to benny241525 For This Useful Post:
Sabiny101 (03-06-2014)
Old 03-06-2014

benny241525 is on a distinguished road

I've also heard cabin bunk
The Following User Says Thank You to benny241525 For This Useful Post:
Sabiny101 (03-06-2014)
Old 03-06-2014