Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Boat Builders Row > Beneteau
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-23-2011

GoingSouthIn2 is on a distinguished road
Exclamation First Purchase

I am looking for some input on purchasing a Beneteau..... I am relatively new to sailing and have never owned a boat. It has been a desire for many years to own my own sailboat. Ultimately I want to end up living on it. In the mean time I will be sailed in the great lakes. I want to be able to entertain comfortably with friends for week long trips down to 1-2 friends for day sails.
I currently crew on a Kelt 29.

I believe I want a Beneteau 393 or a first 407...or there abouts. I like both of these boats for different reasons. My gut tells me the First is the way to go...

I will be taking a course at Humbar College. Incidentally they use a Beneteau 393, so I will get the chance to sail one there.

All feedback would be greatly appreciated!!!
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 06-23-2011

kd3pc is on a distinguished road
either Bs will do well sailing, the Firsts - as performance boat line, may be a bit narrow and spartan for most who want to live aboard but will be around the cans quicker than the "cruising" lines.

I would suggest sailing or chartering a boat in your size of each line, before you decide.

Only then can you make a really good decision.
Old 06-29-2011

GoingSouthIn2 is on a distinguished road
Thanks for the reply!!! I would agree that sailing them both is the way to go and either one will be a good choice. I am afraid I will get bored if I do not get a First. Have you sailed either?
Old 06-30-2011

kd3pc is on a distinguished road
sailed both, then looked at the 36CC (which had the same hull as the going to be 361)...the first was absolutely faster and easier to sail...the 393 had better interior and "could" be made to sail fast.