Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Boat Builders Row > Beneteau
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-24-2012
Lurker extraordinaire

dgasmd is on a distinguished road
Beneteau models question

First of, I would like to ask you that you forgive my ignorance here. I am just getting started in the "sailing world". As I start to look at boats, I have come to be very interested in the Beneteau line as a potential buy in the future. I would like to eventually get something that is roomy enough (38-45 ft) for a family of 4 and 2-4 more guests. I don't plan on doing any transatlantic passages, regattas, or anything of that sort. I live in South Florida, so mostly to be used as a weekend cruiser, trips to the keys, and the occasional Bahamas/caribbean trip 1-2/year. Given my location, A/C is a must for me to use while docked. So, here is where my question comes in:

It seems Beneteau has about 3-4 different models that are almost about the same to the untrained eye (393, oceanis 40, 423, cyclades 43). Give or take 1-3 feet of LWL and the single vs dual wheel, could you give me a synopsis of the real differences between all of them assuming same age (2004 or newer) boat, cost, and condition? I mean something along the lines of: cyclades has less luxury but more bang for the buck vs the 423, etc. I did do a side by side table of features and specifications to compare them all, but I am sure that is a very simplistic way of looking at things, especially for someone that has no first hand knowledge and very little experience.

If it makes any difference, here are some priorities for me:
-A/C as stated.
-I like luxury in the interior
-Clean exterior, but actually prefer non-furling mains
-easy to single hand and use
-fast
-roomy interior
-3 cabins would be ideal
-prefer 2 heads with separate shower space if at all possible

Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 06-24-2012

night0wl is on a distinguished road
Re: Beneteau models question