Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > Boat Review and Purchase Forum > Boat Buyers & Sellers Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-17-2010

pos3idon is on a distinguished road
Finally preparing to buy

Hello everyone,

I have been considering buying a boat to live on for about five years now and am finally at the point where I can make it happen. Here is my situation:

I have about $35,000 saved. I am looking to spend 15,000-25,000 on the boat and use the remaining money to sail for as long as I can before returning to work. I am 6' 2" so I need something with decent headroom and will be sharing the space with my girlfriend so there has to be enough room for two people.

I will be sailing primarily along the east coast of the united states and the Bahamas, however if the boat is capable I would be interested in venture further abroad.

Do any of you know of any boats for sale that would fit this bill? I think something 30' or larger would be preferred since this is going to be our home.

I saw a 1974 38' Irwin for sale on sailboatlistings.com for $25,000 which seemed to be in decent condition considering its age, any thoughts?

Also I was looking at a 1982 34' Irwin citation ($17,000) or a 1979 30' Islander Bahama.

I am entirely open to other boat suggestions so long as the price is right because my primary focus is making this happen now not when I save more money. I will of course conduct a full survey before purchasing anything.

I really appreciate any help you can provide!

EDIT: I am located in New York (near NYC)

Last edited by pos3idon; 02-17-2010 at 01:02 PM.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 02-17-2010

mitiempo will become famous soon enough