Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > Boat Review and Purchase Forum > Boat Buyers & Sellers Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-01-2010

backwaterdog is on a distinguished road
Need advice on 1977 Hunter

I am thinking about purchasing a 1977 hunter 25' for lake sailing in Lake Martin, Al. It is in need of some work, but nothing is structurally wrong with the boat as far as I can tell. It has been on the water in a marina for at least the last four years. It will need teak refinished (hand holds, interior, etc.), hull cleaning, and deck cleaning. Some painting as well I suspect. I am new to sailing and am currently learing to sail on a small 16' wooden daysailer. I will be starting lessons soon, and thought this 25 footer would be a great way to learn on a relatively larger boat. Just thought I would ask for some advice from others that know far more about this than I do. Your thoughts? Good buy or not? The owner is asking 2,120.
Old 09-14-2010

Livinondreams is on a distinguished road
As most will tell you, project boats usually end up being more money then they are worth. From personal expericence, I bought a boat that had been sitting for a long time and the more work I did the more work I found it needed. In the end I decided to save up more money so I could buy less of a project. But if you don't mind putting in a lot of elbow grease and putting some more money into the boat then go for it. Usually if you look around for awhile you can find a good deal that isn't a big project, try craigslist.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 09-14-2010

backwaterdog is on a distinguished road