Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > Boat Review and Purchase Forum > Boat Buyers & Sellers Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-17-2010

TheWhiteRabbit is on a distinguished road
Question Which state do I license through?

I live in Washington State, right on the border (the border being the Columbia River) between Washington and Oregon, and am in the market for a boat. It is most likely that I will buy my boat across the river in Oregon (Portland), mostly just because there just arenít any boats for sale on my side of the river. Furthermore, I will definitely be keeping the boat in a marina in Oregon (again Portland).

So my question is this: Seeing as how the boat will be purchased in Oregon, and will be kept in Oregon, but I am a resident of Washington, with which state do I register/license the boat?

Okay, so I know this is very specific question, about a very specific scenario. but any advice is greatly appreciated!
Thanks all!
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 10-17-2010

xsboats is on a distinguished road
Most states will require out of state residents to register their vessels in that state after it has been there for a period of more than 60 days. I would check with Oregon to see what their policy is. I have had to register my boat in several states in one year for this reason, even though my boat was a documented vessel.
Old 10-17-2010
Chesapeake Sailor

wwilson is on a distinguished road
Agree w/ xsboats. I am a Virginian with a USCG documented boat carrying a state registration sticker for Maryland. Unless Oregon (Go Ducks!) has a hideous tax on boats - you will find that arrangement will be easiest.
Old 10-17-2010

Quote:
Originally Posted by wwilson View Post
Unless Oregon (Go Ducks!) has a hideous tax on boats - you will find that arrangement will be easiest.