SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Boat Buyers & Sellers Forum (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/boat-buyers-sellers-forum/)
-   -   Is it crazy not to get a survey (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/boat-buyers-sellers-forum/84065-crazy-not-get-survey.html)

WildJasmine 02-18-2012 10:50 PM

Is it crazy not to get a survey

I have several years of experience repairing and maintaining boats and pretty much know what to look for. If I am only spending 5,000 is it crazy not to get a survey?

Lake Superior Sailor 02-18-2012 11:03 PM

I think not,if you know whats going on, there is no reason you can't do it yourself! But; surveys can Save a lot if you don't know,...Dale

FSMike 02-18-2012 11:05 PM

I doubt that I would get a survey in that price range. You just have to be sure you don't miss something potentially expensive.

Faster 02-18-2012 11:23 PM

Agree...esp if you're confidant you know what to look for yourself. At that value you may not even be concerned about insurance, which might require a survey.

MARC2012 02-19-2012 06:36 AM

I would not EVERY survey I have seen had serious issues.

Dog Ship 02-19-2012 08:03 AM

Every time I hear something about boat surveyors I bust out in laughter.
It's an unregulated industry that requires no training what so ever. Even an accredited S.A.M.S. yacht surveyor requires no education at all.
All you need to become an accredited boat surveyor is 3 years of experience running the till or scraping boat bottoms in a marina and complete a simple test. You only need to write the test to be accredited, it's not mandatory.
Or, one day, just decide that you want to survey boats for a living and "You is a boat surveyor guy", crazy isn't it. There is no regulation.
The banks and insurance companies have swallowed this scam up, hook, line and sinker.
Unless your spending some big dollars and need insurance, some common sense with a little experience will do just as well as a surveyor who knows nothing.