Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-17-2013

JeffH is on a distinguished road
Hunter 216 vs Capri 22?

My wife and I have been sailing in a club for 7 years and have decided to buy our own boat. The boat will be kept at our dock on a lake in deep water in GA and will be used for daysailing - we don't care about trailering and won't be sleeping on it. We have narrowed our search to a Capri 22 (fin keel, standard rig) and a Hunter 216. My concern about the Hunter is whether or not we will be happy in the long term with the lack of sail controls and the comfort level aboard when the weather turns cool. On the plus side, it is hard to imagine a simpler boat to sail and maintain. My concern about the Capri is whether or not I want the additional maintenance this boat presents over the Hunter. We don't really care about racing, but don't want to sail a slug either. Any thoughts, experience, or advice about these boats would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 06-17-2013

Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about
Re: Hunter 216 vs Capri 22?

Welcome to the SailNet from the other Jeff_H...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Curmudgeon at Large- and rhinestone in the rough, sailing my Farr 11.6 on the Chesapeake Bay and part-time purveyor of marine supplies
The Following User Says Thank You to Jeff_H For This Useful Post:
JeffH (06-18-2013)
Old 06-17-2013
Stupor-user.

SHNOOL is on a distinguished road

I've not sailed the Hunter 216. I have seen them and the Asym sprit rig on them seems pretty sweet.

The Capri 22 is hardly a slug, so no worries there. It can also be setup about as easy or as hard as you like, with as few or as many sail controls as you might want.