Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree6Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-25-2013

Lomcevak is on a distinguished road
PLEASE! Buying Advice: MacGregor 25 or 26S

Edited...see below.

Last edited by Lomcevak; 07-25-2013 at 01:00 AM.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-25-2013

Re: PLEASE! Help Me Decide: MacGregor 25 or 26S

Greetings, All! This is my first post to the forum.

I've been yearning to get into sailing for several years, and I'm finally in the position of considering purchasing a boat.

After having learned a bit I was really keen on getting a MacGregor 26S (or D) for the fact that it was light to trailer. I am NOT interested in the "motor sailor" version.

My limitations are: I wanted it to be light enough to tow with a 1993 Mazda MPV (about 3500 lbs is the max I wanted to tow, but would have preferred much lighter). And secondly, I wanted to not have to spend more than about $6000.00.

I have seen 3 MacGregor 26S's (all early 90's models) here in B.C. that are all asking about $6500 to $8000. But the one that may actually move to buy is a 1983 MacGregor 25.

This particular Mac25's hull appears to be in GREAT condition. The gelcoat in the freeboard area (sorry don't know much terminology, yet) is original (though in need of a good cut-polish), but below the waterline has a recent anti-fouling on it so I can't see any previous damage. But what is really amazing is the deck: there are NO stress cracks around ANY of the stanchions, fittings, hardware, etc. and no 'crazing' in the outer hull (above the waterline - can't tell what's under the anti-fouling under the waterline) and no crazing or anything really untoward in the deck. The forward hatch has a bit of stress fracturing near the hinge line but THAT'S IT!!