Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-26-2004

JDAM is on a distinguished road
Frers 38

Does anyone have any experence with, or opinion of this boat.

Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 09-28-2004

pehrst is on a distinguished road
Frers 38

I have no hands on knowledge of this boat, nice loooking though. However on the PHRFNE site, there are several modifications done to the keel, suggesting that they are under ballasted in its original configuration
Old 07-12-2008

cpeznola is on a distinguished road
2 Time Frers 38 Owner

Hello,

I can tell you a lot about the Carroll Marine Frers 38. I currently own "Vanishing Point" and previously owned "Dragon", both Frers 38s. The first was a 1989 version with a medium length keel, and the forward placed mast. This version had two design flaws, first, the mast was moved 6 inches forward of design specifications, by Carroll, in order to get it to fit inside the head. Additionally, the 1989 was ordered with the 6' 9" keel. That boat also had the traditional fiberglass hull, a complete forward and aft stateroom, with closing doors and additional wood trim. She was essentially a cruiser.

The new Frers (the 1991) has an "S"-glass / kevlar hull and deck, special ordered for weight savings and additional stiffness. She also has a 7' 6" fin keel. This boat also has an aft bunkroom with no door, and the forward section is for sail storage (no forward cabin). This boat is a lot faster, points like no boat I have ever sailed, and is so stiff, you really don't need a lot of crew to keep her relatively flat in nearly any wind.