SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Boat Review and Purchase Forum (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/boat-review-purchase-forum/)
-   -   Seafarer 29 (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/boat-review-purchase-forum/10950-seafarer-29-a.html)

matoqui 12-11-2004 04:34 AM

Seafarer 29

Hello,

I am being offered a 1976 29 feet Seafarer for purchase. I am new to sailing and this would be my first boat. It seems to be in very good and clean condition, and the price seems reasonable. I would like a good boat to sail the Caribbean, including the Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico and Virgin Islands with my wife and daughter. Is the Seafarer an appropriate boat for this? Are there any issues I should be careful about before buying? You advice & opinion will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Manuel

sailingfool 12-11-2004 06:12 AM

Seafarer 29

The probability of you, a new sailor, presented with an old boat, which is small and marginal for offshore use, traveling great distances, without experience, with a family, in any kind of harmony and safety is very unlikley!

If you are truely interested in sailing, get a small boat (say 19'' or so) and learn how to sail. AFTER you have learned the basics adequately, bring the family out and see if they also enjoy it. When you have a few years of experience or the equivalent, buy a 29 footer and try out some cruising, and develop an additionallevel of experience and expertise.

THEN, if the dream still lives, start planning trips like the ones you have mentioned.

To take on an old boat with no experience is a formula for disasters, whether financial, relationship, or life-threatening, or all combined. Walk away from the 29, even if offered free. You likely have no experience to judge very good condition from barely afloat, reasonable price from big rippoff. At best the purchase price of an old boat is more like a downpayment on a long string of $$$ surprises, then the real cost.