Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-15-2005

a270boarder is on a distinguished road
First boat help...

I cant say thanks enough to all the knowledgeable sailors that''s help each other on sailnet. I know there are many post like this but any advice would be great.
My dream since I was small was to sail. I graduate from college in the fall of 2005 and want to make my dream a reality. I plan to move to the coast, buy a boat, live aboard, learn to sail, and eventually circumnavigate. I have limited sailing experience so I need a boat that I can learn on and sail single handed. Comfort is not a big issue, but this boat will be home. I was thinking of around 30 ft, but I know there are other things to take into account like displacement. I would love to have my first boat for many years so making the right choice is important. I am going sailing in the caribbean when I graduate, and would love to stay there until I find my dream boat. What should I look for and what price range should I expect. Thanks a lot
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 01-16-2005

dman is on a distinguished road
First boat help...

There has to be at least ten questions here but I will just say this. You must read everything you can get your hands on.Sailboats have so many different characteritics not to mention the owners,that choices must come from within.I don`t know of anyone who has picked their first boat and stuck with it.People change,their needs change, so educate yourself.I like heavy displacement boats ,many others do not.I like long keels many others do not.I could keep listing the diferrences for days.Oh I almost forgot I also like a boat that gets up and goes like hell for an hour or so .
Old 01-19-2005

sailnaway is on a distinguished road
First boat help...