Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-28-2013

floatingPoint is on a distinguished road
whatsit?

Hi there my name is Douglas and I'm new to sailnet. I'm writing looking for some guidance as I select a new daysailer. I imagine that at least some of you understand how difficult this can be. No one boat can be all things at all times and there are so many ways a boat can be appealing that the combination of compromises one could make is mind numbing.

I happen to think that the older sloops just have wonderful lines. The overhanging ends, modest beam, performance oriented yachts appeal to me. There is one boat in particular which has caught my eye and it is a mystery to me.

The ad (cl los angeles) reads 1943 pedersen design Viking Sailboat 18ft Sloop HISTORICAL. I know a Viking Yachts, and they started by buying Peterson-Viking (New Jersey!). But that Viking is sport fishing.

The Viking line of sailboats are all plastic as far as I know and most of them are C&C?

Pederson is a Scandinavian name and at least one was a marine architect and did design boats but I get no further.

Also my eye might be way off, but is that sloop only 18 feet? If the add read 25 I wouldn't have thought anything odd looking at the photos.

So I guess all I really know is that she's pretty - and after all what else could we possibly want from a vessel which will be come our life support system for hours (if not days) at a time?

There's a lot you can tell from the photos: self tacking jib with a very simple set up (aleron express 28). Based on the aft leaning rudder shaft (shields) I'd say it was skeg mounted rudder. Which leads me to believe that this has a modified full keel (or so I was taught to call it, though some of the literature of the period described these keels as "fin").