SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

34'' - 38'' Coastal Cruiser - My wants vs. my needs.

6K views 8 replies 4 participants last post by  marinedtcomRob 
#1 ·
34'''' - 38'''' Coastal Cruiser - My wants vs. my needs.

I just came across this forum a few days ago and I just can't stop reading the intelligent and insightful responses to often vague and confused questions. So far, I've read back to 2001 postings and there's still more to go. I'd now like to post my own vague and conflicted question.

I've been sailing for 25 years - first on Sunfish, Lasers, Snipes, that I owned and then on Hunter 23' - 30' boats of friends. Then I discovered Hobie Cats. I sailed/raced Hobie 16's for 10 years before getting married and giving up the sport. In the last 5 years, I've gotten the wife interested in sailing and we've chartered Beneteaus 34' - 40' for a couple of weeks in the BVI's every winter for the last 4 years. Now, we're think we're ready for our own boat. We'll be sailing mainly in the coastal waters of Maine, Massachusetts, and Rhode Island, with the possible trip to the Chesapeake or even the ICW to Florida. No offshore passages in our plans at present. We think that we want a 36' - 40' boat that is comfortable inside for 2-4 adults and has a roomy cockpit for enjoying the outdoors (no picnic table). More importantly, we need a boat that has a seakindly motion (we're both prone to mal di mare), but that sails relatively fast to windward. Coming from the cat world, I think bobbing along at 4-5 knots would make me jump overboard. I'd also like a boat that I could single-hand if necessary. The new little Morris 36' with headsail winches within easy reach of the wheel is the ultimate. The budget is up to $150k, but I think we can find a suitable boat for less. I'd consider a boat up to 20 ye