Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-15-2006

DirtManly is on a distinguished road
Laser 28

Hello,I have been helping a freind of mine to find a new boat. He has some sailing experience and plans to daysail on an inland lake that typically has lgiht air. He is currently looking at the Laser 28 in Jacksonville and is pretty impressed. I have no experience with this boat at all and am relunctant to tell him anything outside of typical things to look for on a used boat.
My questions are;
Are these well made boats?
Are they relatively easy to daysail?
Are they bad about blisteing?
Are there any typical problems to look for?
Are they tender?
It sounds as if these have more tweeks that a Star and I am concerned that it may be to complicated for a daysailer.
Thank you
Dirt
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 01-16-2006

Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about
Laser 28

I owned a Laser 28 for roughly 14 years. I really loved the Laser 28. It was fast, easy to handle and a surprisingly comfortable coastal cruiser. The Laser 28 was a potent racer under PHRF, IMS, and MORC. During the time that I owned the Laser 28, I had the opportunity to sail her in a very wide range of conditions. I thought that the Laser 26 was a great daysailor, weekender, single-hander and race boat. My wife and I had cruised her for periods of 11 days or more in good comfort. She is an excellent light air boat with quite reasonable heavy air behavior. (We got caught out in winds that were pegged the anemometer of a nearby boat at 65 knots. It definitely was survival conditions, but the Laser 28 did very well, being able to beat away from a lee shore and claw its way out of the confines of a tight river under a double reefed mainsail.)