Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-15-2006

davymac is on a distinguished road
Advice/thoughts on a ~30' boat

Hi all

I'm a bit of a newbie to the forum and and am looking for some advice/thoughts on boats in the 28 to 31 feet range. We're looking for a cruiser/racer for sailing off the Scottish coast (based out of Edinburgh) and in due course longer passages over to Norway/Germany/Denmark.

We're looking to spend up to around about £25,000 (bearing in mind that most boats cost more in Europe than in the US). So far we've seen a Westerly GK29 which we thought looked suitable, though it is no longer for sale, and a Contest 31HT. Does anyone have anything good, bad or indifferent to say about either of these?

Other suggestions we've received have been a Sadler 29 or a Seamaster 28 (and subsequent variations). We're probably wanting a fin keeled boat for better performance to windward, but bilge keel does have its advantages (especially here on the east coast o Scotland where many of the harbours are drying on mud) so thoughts on that would also be welcome.

Any ideas or guidance?

Thanks in advance/anticipation

David
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 02-15-2006

paulk is on a distinguished road
Options